Rajasthan polls: BJP makes inraods in BSP, Cong bastions; gets Dalit votes

Jaipur: The BJP inflicted a blow to the Congress and the BSP in Rajasthan by breaking into their traditional Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribes community vote bank as it swept the Assembly elections in the state, winning 115 of the 199 where polling took place.

Of the 34 SC reserved seats that went to the polls, the BJP won 22 and the Congress 11. An Independent candidate won the other seat. Among the 25 seats reserved for ST candidates, the BJP won 12, the Congress 10 and the Bhartiya Adivasi Party three.

The BJP emerged victorious in Nadbai, Nagar, Karauli and Tijara which were won by the BSP in 2018. The Congress won Udaipurwati and Kishangarh Bas. All these seats were won by the Mayawati-led party in 2018 but the MLAs later joined the Congress.