India holds 100th G20 meeting under its presidency of bloc

New Delhi:  India celebrated a key milestone in its G20 presidency on Monday with the hosting of the 100th meeting of the grouping, the Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) said.

It said the 100 G-20 meetings have been held in 41 cities, covering 28 states and union territories of India.

“India’s G20 presidency, in the build-up to the New Delhi leaders’ summit on September 9 and 10 has received immense support from G20 members and guest countries for its inclusive, ambitious, action-oriented and decisive agenda,” the MEA said.

India’s G20 presidency will continue till November 30.

The Group of Twenty (G20) comprises 19 countries (Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Trkiye, United Kingdom, and United States) and the European Union.

The G20 members represent around 85 per cent of the global GDP, over 75 per cent of the global trade, and about two-thirds of the world’s population.