SC judges, including CJI, invited for Jan 22 consecration ceremony in Ayodhya

New Delhi: Five Supreme Court judges including present CJI D Y Chandrachud, who were part of the Constitution bench which paved way for the construction of the Ram Temple at the disputed site in Ayodhya, are invited as state guests to witness the consecration ceremony on January 22.

Besides the present CJI Chandrachud, former CJIs Ranjan Gogoi and S A Bobde and former judges Ashok Bhushan and S Abdul Nazeer were part of the bench which had delivered the historic verdict on November 9, 2019.

The unanimous and anonymous verdict had backed the construction of a Ram temple by a government trust at the disputed site in Ayodhya and ruled that an alternative five-acre plot must be found for a mosque in the Hindu holy town.

It has been reported that the Constitution bench comprising former CJI Ranjan Gogoi, former CJI SA Bobde, present CJI DY Chandrachud, and former judges of the Supreme Court, Justices Ashok Bhushan and S Abdul Nazeer has been sent an invite.

The long list of invitees also includes more than 50 jurists, including former chief justices, judges, and lawyers including Solicitor General Tushar Mehta and former Attorney General KK Venugopal are also among the invitees.

Over 7,000 people from theĀ realms of politics, entertainment, industry, sports, and religion are expected to attend the ceremony.