PM Modi attend swering ceremonies of AP, Odisha CMs

New Delhi: The swearing-in ceremony for the chief minister of Odisha will take place at Janata Maidan in Bhubaneswar on Wednesday, June 12, at 4:45 PM, amid suspense over the BJP candidate for the chief ministerial position.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) came to power in the recent state assembly elections, defeating the outgoing Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik-led Biju Janata Dal (BJD). The saffron party won 78 seats in the 147-member assembly, securing a majority for the first time in the state.

Subsequently, another BJP ally, N Chandrababu Naidu, the leader of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), will be sworn in as the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh for the third time on June 12. The swearing-in ceremony will take place at 11:00 AM on Wednesday, June 12, at the Kesarapalli IT Park near Gannavaram airport.

The Naidu-led TDP, which contested the 2024 Lok Sabha election in alliance with Pawan Kalyan’s JanaSena Party (JSP) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), will return to power after defeating the incumbent Jagan Mohan Reddy-led YSR Congress Party (YSRCP).

The TDP alone won 16 MP seats in Andhra Pradesh, while the NDA alliance of TDP, BJP, and JanaSena collectively secured a total of 21 out of 25 seats.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is expected to attend both the swearing-in ceremony of Naidu as the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh and the ceremony for the new Odisha Chief Minister.

A day earlier, the BJP appointed senior party leaders Rajnath Singh and Bhupender Yadav as its central observers to oversee the election of the leader of its MLAs in the Odisha assembly, who will take oath as the state’s next chief minister.

The party stated that its parliamentary board selected Singh and Yadav, who were actively involved in the state assembly polls, to oversee the meeting.