PM congratulates Padma Awards recipients, says India cherishes their contribution

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday congratulated all those who have been conferred the Padma Awards and said India cherishes their contribution across diverse sectors.

Former Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, actors Vyjayantimala Bali and Konidela Chiranjeevi, Sulabh International founder late Bindeshwar Pathak, first woman judge of Supreme Court late M Fathima Beevi and Bombay Samachar owner Hormusji N Cama were among 132 eminent persons awarded Padma awards on Thursday.

Actor Mithun Chakraborty, Foxconn Chairman Young Liu from Taiwan, BJP veteran Ram Naik, actor late Vijaykanth, singer Usha Uthup and philanthropist Kiran Nadar were also awarded the coveted civilian awards on the eve of 75th Republic Day, according to an official statement.

The awards are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri, with Padma Vibhushan being the highest honour among the three. They are given in various disciplines and fields of activities, such as art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature, education, sports, civil service, etc.

This year, tabla maestro Zakir Hussain and Samajwadi Party founder Mulayam Singh Yadav were among the six Padma Vibhushan awardees.

Sudha Murty and Kumar Mangalam Birla were among the nine awardees of Padma Bhushan. Meanwhile, late investor magnate Rakesh Jhunjhunwala, actress Raveena Tandon, as well as music composer MM Keeravaani whose Telugu blockbuster RRR received global recognition, were among the 91 awardees of the Padma Shri Award.

The awards are announced on the eve of Republic Day every year. However, this year, no one was named for the Bharat Ratna, the country’s highest civilian award.