Same sex marriage: Countries where it is legal

New Delhi:  Even as the Supreme Court’s five-judge Constitution bench on Tuesday refused to grant legal recognition to same-sex marriages, there are 34 countries where marriage between same-sex couples is legally performed and recognized with the most recent country being Andorra.

Same-sex marriage will become legal in the 35th country, Estonia, from the next year.

Among the 34 countries where same-sex marriage is legal at present are: Cuba, Andorra, Slovenia, Chile, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Austria, Taiwan Ecuador, Belgium, Britain, Denmark, Finland,  France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Luxemburg, Malta, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Mexico, South Africa, United States, Colombia, Brazil, Argentina, Canada, Netherlands, New Zealand, Portuga, and Uruguay.

Meanwhile, if legalized, the decision will put India on the list of these nations where marriage equality exists.

While the Netherlands was the first nation to legalize same-sex marriage in the year 2001, Taiwan has landed the feat of becoming the first Asian nation to do so.