TRS retains Nagarjunasagar assembly seat; Cong, BJP face humiliation


Hyderabad: As expected, the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi has wrested the Nagarjunasagar Assembly constituency with its candidate Nomula Bhagat winning the by-election with a comfortable majority of over 18,000 votes.

The bypoll was necessitated following the death of sitting TRS MLA Nomula Narsimhaiah in December last year.

While the TRS fielded Bhagat son of Narsimhaiah as its nominee, veteran leader K. Jana Reddy represented the Congress and P. Ravi Kumar was the BJP’s candidate in the election. Though it was expected that the BJP would put up a reasonable performance, its nominee forfeited the security deposit at the end of the day as the contest turned out to be between the TRS and the Congress as the counting progressed.

The constituency witnessed huge voter turnout exceeding 86 per cent on the polling day with 1.89 lakh of the 2.2 lakh votes cast in the bypoll. The huge turnout left leaders of all the sides guessing as to which side the majority of electors cast their preference. But the TRS nominee who started leading in the early rounds maintained the leads till the last round. The TRS secured 89,804 votes and the Congress 70,932 votes while the BJP remained a distant third with 7,676 votes as the counting of votes ended.