Kamal Nath on sticky wicket in MP as rumors of BJP poaching gain currency


(Online Desk)

BJP is conspiring to destabilise the Kamal Nath-headed Congress government in Madhya Pradesh and as part of that ‘mission’ it has held more than half a dozen Congress as well other allies in forcible confinement in a star hotel since last night, alleged a senior Congress leader.

His allegation comes close on the heels of the party MP Digvijay Singh as well the Chief Minister Kamal Nath himself.  However, Kamal Nath, who claimed that the BJP leadership is offering some of his cabinet colleagues as well MLAs of Rs 25-30 cr cash as well plum posts in future government, will not fall a prey to their lures.

MP Finance Minister Tarun Bhanot alleged that eight Congress and allied MLAs (including 4-5 Congress MLAs) have been kept forcefully at the hotel in Gurugram.

“One of our MLAs and former minister Bisahulal Singh rang us and informed that they have been forcefully kept at a hotel in Gurugram and are not being allowed to step out,” alleged Bhanot.

Bhanot further claimed that two ministers, including Urban Development minister Jaivardhan Singh and Higher Education Minister Jeetu Patwari, who went to the concerned hotel to meet the eight MLAs are not being allowed entry in the hotel.

“Since Haryana has a BJP government, the state police, aided by former minister Narottam Mishra (alleged mastermind behind the entire operation) aren’t allowing our two ministerial colleagues to meet the MLAs,” said Bhanot.

Late in the evening, a Congress MLA Baijnath Kushwah too had told senior cabinet minister Dr Govind Singh, that a BJP leader from Bhind had offered him Rs 25 crore or ministership if he supported the formation of a BJP government in the state.

Sources confirm of a possible conspiracy by BJP to make 8-10 Congress and its allies to resign and topple the government. Needless to say, this will also influence the Rajya Sabha polls to be held on March 26.

Congress has 114 MLAs in the 228-members strong Madhya Pradesh Assembly. It also enjoys the support of 7 MLAs, including two BSP, one SP and four independents. Meanwhile, BJP has 107 MLAs.