Jagan elected YSRLP leader; sets target for 2024


Amaravathi: Setting the target for 2024 for a better performance, YSRCP President YS Jagan Mohan Reddy told the winning legislators that the stupendous victory has further increased their responsibility and they have to honour the mandate by living up to the people’s expectations.

Addressing the Legislature Party meeting, after being unanimously elected as the leader, he said, ‘ winning 151 of the 175 assembly and 23 of the 25 Parliament seats by securing over 50 % of the total votes polled is an unprecedented chapter in the polity of the state which has to be written in golden letters.

The decisive mandate shows the level of confidence people had reposed in us and in six months’ time we should show results and get the feedback of good governance.

I promise to cleanse the political system to pave way for politics of credibility and accountability and every one of you should be part of this process. Our aims and style of functioning should compel the entire nation look towards us as we will shape as a model state, he said.

All of you and every party worker in the nook and corner of the state are part of this victory, which has increased our responsibility and we have to shoulder it to take forward the state on all fronts. During the 2014 elections we narrowly missed the bus by just 1 % vote which worked out to be around five lakh votes.

During the past five years, we have seen and braved the unruly and undemocratic methods employed by TDP government and were with the people all the time and were always raising people’s issues at various forums and forms.

The turmoil the party workers, leaders and people had undergone during the TDP term, the plight and sufferings they have expressed during the 3,648 km Praja Sankalpa Yatra had reflected in the resounding victory of our Party, he said.

In a lighter vein he said, God punishes those who err in His own way.

Chandrababu Naidu had bought 23 legislators from our Party and it is the same figure of 23 MLAs that TDP has won now and as coincidence would have it, the results were announced on 23 (May). Stretching the poetic justice further, he said, he engineered defections of 3 MPs from our Party and now he is left with the same figure of 3 in this election.