Election Commission announces Rajya Sabha polls for 10 seats


(Online Desk)

The Election Commission has announced elections to ten seats in the Rajya Sabha from three states on June 8 for which a formal notification would be issued on May 22.

Rajya Sabha tenure of many prominent faces including Union minister Smriti Irani, CPI(M) general secretary Sitaram Yechury and Trinamool Congress leader Derek O’Brien, is set to end in July and August.

Out of the ten retiring members, four are from Trinamool Congress, three from Congress, two from BJP and one from the CPI (M).

The term of Shantaram Naik (Cong, Goa) is coming to an end on July 28, the retirement of Ahmed Patel (Cong), Dilipbhai Pandya (BJP) and ┬áIrani (BJP) — all from Gujarat — is due on August 18.

Similarly, the tenure of members from West Bengal — Derek O’Brien (TMC), Debabrata Bandhopadhyay (TMC), Pradip Bhattacharya (Cong), Sitaram Yechury (CPI-M), Sukhenduhakhar Roy (TMC) and Dola Sen (TMC) are also ending on August 18.

Since the Presidential polls are due before July 24, these members will be able to cast their ballot in the election as their retirement is due after that.