B S Yeddyurappa sworn in as Karnataka chief minister


(Online Desk)

B S Yeddyurappa, who was elected as the legislature party leader of BJP, was today sworn-in as Chief Minister of Karnataka.

Hours before B S Yeddyurappa is scheduled to take oath as the Chief Minister of Karnataka, the Supreme Court declines to stay the swearing in ceremony on the petition filed by Congress and JD(S) challenging Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala’s decision to invite the BJP to form the government in the southern state.

In the midnight hearing, a three judge bench of Justices AK Sikri, S A Bobde and Ashok Bhushan said, “Case will be heard later and formation of government will depend on court’s final decision.”

The court will examine the support claimed by Yeddyurappa in his letter to Governor showing his status to form the government. The court will take up the case at 10:30 am on Friday.

The joint petition by the Congress and the Janata Dal (Secular) has sought a stay on the oath-taking ceremony, as communicated by the governor to the BJP’s chief ministerial candidate B S Yeddyurappa.